Dr. Tien N. Nguyen

Professor, Computer Science Department

University of Texas-Dallas

Dr. Tien N. Nguyen is currently a Full Professor in the Computer Science Department at the University of Texas-Dallas. His research interests include program analysis, software security, machine learning for software engineering, and software mining and evolution. In the past ten years, he has been awarded 4 ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Awards, one Best Paper Award, and one best ICSE Formal Research Demonstration Award, one Most Impact Paper Award at the top-tier, international software engineering conferences including ICSE, FSE, and ASE. He is ranked 2nd in the US by csrankings.org among the researchers that have published the most at the top-tier software engineering conferences. Since 2007, his research has been supported by 14 external grants including 8 NSF grants from US National Science Foundation (as the main PI on five of them), and several grants from industry including ABB Software Research Grant Program, Litton Industry, IBM research, and Agile Alliance Academic Program. He has served as the Program Co-Chair of the 32nd ACM/IEEE International Conference on Automated Software Engineering (ASE 2017), and 4 times as the Chair of the Formal Demonstration Tracks at ICSE and FSE. He has served on Program Committees and Program Boards of top-tier software engineering conferences including ICSE, FSE, ASE, OOPSLA, ECOOP, and ICSME, and as reviewers for the top-tier journals such as TOSEM, TSE, and ESEM. He has received several awards for excellence in research including the Litton Professorship Medallion Award (Iowa State University), Graduate of the Last Decade (University of Wisconsin), etc.

Dr. Minh Do

Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Vice-Provost, VinUniversity
Professor, College of Engineering and Computer Science

Dr. Minh Do is currently on leave from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) serving as the Vice Provost of VinUniversity. Since 2002, he has been on the faculty at UIUC, where he is currently the Thomas and Margaret Huang Endowed Professor in Signal Processing & Data Science in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and holds affiliate appointments with the Coordinated Science Laboratory, the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, the Department of Bioengineering, and the Department of Computer Science. His research interests include Signal Processing, Computational Imaging, Machine Perception, and Data Science.

He received a Silver Medal from the 32nd International Mathematical Olympiad in 1991, University Medal from the University of Canberra in 1997, Doctorate Award from the EPFL in 2001, CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation in 2003,  Xerox Award for Faculty Research from UIUC in 2007, and Young Author Best Paper Award from IEEE in 2008.  He was an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, and a member of several IEEE Technical Committees on Signal Processing.  He was elected as an IEEE Fellow in 2014 for his contributions to image representation and computational imaging.  He has contributed to several tech-transfer efforts, including as a co-founder and CTO of Personify and Chief Scientist of Misfit.